top of page
No tags yet.
Search By Tag:

Beautiful Germany


Beautiful Germany

Hello Family,

Sister Ahlm and I are Sister Training Leaders so we got to travel to Munich for Mission Leadership Council! (MLC). We took a bus which was only supposed to be a 3 hour ride, but we hit traffic so it took almost 5 1/2 hours.. i. almost. died. It was awful. But it was worth it because we got ipads which have proved to be useless this week so far.. we only get wifi at the church, but whatever, we still have them.

--Sister Ahlm and I at the Monestary looking for Monks--

On Monday we walked around a place where monks live.. Help me out here what are those things called.. (Monestery) says Mom anyway we didn't see a monk.. so that was a bummer.. But it was fun! I love seeing all of the old buildings here and thinking about how much history they have lived through. It's amazing what brings you joy as a missionary. Seriously, we had an investigator come to church yesterday and it brought the biggest smile to my face because i did not think she was going to come.. BUT SHE DID! My German has improved so much! i went to ward council yesterday without sister Ahlm, whikle she stayed with our investagator and I understood like 80% of what was said. I told them what was going on with missionary work and what we needed and they understood! (i think) maybe they were just humoring me. Elder Pope had to translate one time.. But still Im improvinggggg!!

We have eating appointments multiple times in one day. In Germany it's extremely rude if you leave food on your plate, so here is the technique that I've developed.

The key to surviving eating appointments:

Take a small amount first to test it out just in case its less than appetizing.. or if your eating with Africans to make sure it's not going to burn your face off (hey dad see if you can handle African food, that is spicyyyy!) Then after you've determined if you can eat a lot, load up your plate. If you can't eat a lot, eat very very slowly.. otherwise if you finish before your hosts do, they will load your plate up again. We watched part of The Errand of Angels yesterday, and you know the part where that lady just loads her plate with food, ya thats exactly what it's like over here.

D&C 12:8--And no one can assist in this work except he shall be humble and full of love, having faith, hope, and charity, being temperate in all things, whatsoever shall be entrusted to his care.

Transfer calls are this Saturday. I'm almost through my first transfer. What the heck, that's nuts! I'm like 99% sure that I'm staying in Tübingen but we aren't sure if Sister Ahlm will stay or not. I love the thought you shared mom that we are flooding the Earth with the Book of Mormon. I absolutely LOVE the "Because he Lives" DVD that the church released at Easter. It gives me chills every time I watch it. We should be sharing the Gospel at every opportunity just by who are and the way we act. When we are disciples of Jesus Christ we do our best to be like him and that entails being a good person and serving. Al Fox has a video where she walked around with a picture of Christ all day and she said "Those who saw me saw Christ"

I think that's something that we should strive for, being so Christ-like, that people can feel his love and know him through us. I love you all.

Also family, especially Cole you'll never guess what happened. We were walking down the street to the train station and from the corner of my eye, I spotted a box on the sidewalk and in the box I saw the Pink Panther movie! I channeled my inner Clarence and I asked my companion, "Excuse me but are those free" pointing to the box. and she said yes. I grabbed it out of the box and now I have Pink Panther on DVD. WOOT! I'll send it home when I send a package at some point, so get excited.

We sleep every chance we get...

I miss Dr. Pepper. We had to go to an American candy store to buy this and Reeses.

(which happened to be in a Hookah shop.. fitting right)


bottom of page